Scribner’s Famous Series

aka/ Scribner’s Famous Series of Stories and Essays

Charles Scribner’s Sons (New York, US)
Series dates: 1908-1932
Size: 5″ x 7.25″

Scribner’s Famous Series of Stories and Essays consisted of short works bound in boards and numbering up to at least 28 titles. The series name is not mentioned in the book itself, only on the dust jacket (making it impossible to search for the series by name on WorldCat).

Robert Herrick’s short story The Master of the Inn was published in 1918 (nineteenth impression, first in April 1908). The jacket contains a blurb about the story on the front of the jacket in addition to the title/author, publisher and price (.50 cents). An advertisement for another Herrick title in the series is on the front jacket flap.


A list of titles in the series is on the rear of the jacket. The rear flap guides the viewer to the reverse of the jacket for a descriptive list of series titles.


A detailed descriptive list of series titles (28 in all) is printed on the reverse of the dust jacket.


Bound in boards with a cloth spine. The spine is blank. The title and author are printed on the front of the book.


Half title page:


A list of titles “In Similar Form” (but not mentioning the series name) faces the title page. The date of printing is included below the imprint.


This title was reprinted at least nineteen times.


Herrick’s story, which seems to be one of the more popular in the series, was reprinted last in 1932.