Little Books on Art

Methuen & Co., Ltd. (London, UK)
Series dates: 1903-1929
Size: 4.5″ x 6″

A.C. McClurg (Chicago, US)
Series dates: 1905-1914


The Little Books on Art series are “monographs in miniature, containing the complete outline of subject material under treatment” according to the back of the jacket. The series was in print from 1905 to 1929, with most titles issued within the first few years after 1903. The series was published in the U.S. by A.C. McClurg.

This copy of H.B. Walters’ Greek Art was first published in 1904, and this is the 6th printing from 1925. Jackets are common to the series with the series name and book title, author and price placed in open areas on the jacket. The front jacket flap is blank.


The rear of the jacket lists 26 titles in the series. The size of the books (Demy 16mo) and price (5s) is also indicated.


The books have debossed cloth bindings with the title and publisher in gold.


The half title page with the series editor, Cyril Davenport.


The 26 titles in the series are listed on the reverse of the half-title page, sorted into “subjects” and “artists.”


An illustration faces the title page, with a sheet of tissue-bound in between the two.


The title page:


The copyright page with first and subsequent printings:


Information on the printer is on the last page of the book: