Faber Library

Faber and Faber, Ltd. (London, UK)
Series dates: 1932-1944, 1995-1997
Size: 5″ x 7″

Faber and Faber’s The Faber Library was initiated in 1932 with six titles and eventually expanded to 55 titles. Between 1932 and 1940 the books jackets and bindings remained very similar, with only modifications in the list of titles on the back of the jacket. Author and title information is printed on commonly designed jackets. The books are described on the front flap, along with the price (3s./6d.). This copy of De La Mare’s Memoirs of a Midget is dated 1932.


The back of the jacket has current titles in the series, in this case, the first six titles. You can contact Faber and Faber for a prospectus for the series, as well as other titles.


Bindings are consistently green with silver stamping and a blank front cover.


The series name and book serial number are included on the page before the title page.


The title page.


Copyright and printing information on the reverse of the title page indicates printing information in the series. Reprints are indicated and dated.


Two additional dust jacket paper colors, green and purple. Farmer’s Glory and Memoirs of a Fox-Hunting Man both have 1936 print dates.


A list of the first 39 titles in the series is on the jacket from the late 1930s.


In the early 1940s titles from the series were redesigned to meet wartime standards as indicated by information on the back of the title page of this 1942 copy of Williamson’s The Beautiful Years.


The jacket on this war economy standard book is simpler but has content similar to the earlier jackets. Both reprint and new titles were issued in this style.


The back of the jacket lists 54 titles. At least one more title, Walter de la Mare’s The Listeners and Other Poems (#55) was published (in 1942).


Bindings remain the same, but the paper in the book is cheaper and more coarse than the paper in earlier books.


There do not seem to be new titles issued after 1942 although some books continued to be printed into the 1950s according to WorldCat records.

Faber revived the Faber Library series in 1995 and continued to issue new titles until about 1997.