Dolphin Books

Chatto & Windus (London, UK)
Series dates: 1930-1937
Size: 5″ x 7.5″

dolphin_logo1The Dolphin Books were a well-designed but short-lived Chatto & Windus series of shorter works (maximum of 17,000 words). The series had about 20 titles. Many of the series titles were commissioned, including Samuel Beckett’s Proust, Thomas McGreevy’s Thomas Stearns Eliot, and H. M. Tomlinson’s Norman Douglas. Most of the titles were published by 1932 and the series seems to have been available until at least 1937.


A copy of R.H. Mottram’s The New Providence first published in the series in 1930. It is among the first three titles in the series. Jackets are common to the series and consist of a stylized dolphin and flowing, what, seaweed? pattern. The design continues on the spine. The front jacket flap is blank except for the 2s. net price.


The initial three titles are listed on the back of the jacket along with forthcoming titles.


An elaborately printed binding (on boards) replicates some of the design elements of the jacket. The series name is included at the top of the front cover.


Title page with the series name:


The three initial titles in the series are listed facing the title page. The date is included under the publisher’s imprint.


Copyright 1930.