American Fiction Series

American Book Company (New York, USA)
Series dates: 1937-1939
Size: 5.5″ x 8″


The American Fiction Series published six titles in the late 1930s with more planned (see the last image below). Those additional titles were never published, possibly due to World War II.

The American Book Company was an educational publisher best known for its McGuffey Readers. The American Fiction Series focused on important historical American fiction with academic introductions, chronologies and bibliographies intended, undoubtedly, for the college classroom. They were large in format at 5.5″ x 8″.

Jackets were designed for each title and the front jacket flap included a blurb about the book.


Bindings were in cloth with the series name and illustration on the book cover.


The six titles published were listed on the back jacket cover and inside the book. The rear jacket flap indicates many other titles were “Now Ready” but there is no evidence that any of these titles were published.